My project is based on my interest of 3D printing which has developed significantly throughout this course.

I have created a product called “FilTa Speak”. This is a 3D printed speaker with a Frequency Display. This idea is based on downloadable designs which can be viewed from shareable websites such as Makerbot’s Thingiverse and Ultimaker’s YouMagine.

In order to come up with an initial design a lot of thought and creativity is required as I needed to come up with the shape and the size of a small portable speaker which would be aesthetically pleasing in design and a size that was not too big with the ease of transportation to different locations.

I had to design the speaker cover which I chose a round shape with a domed honeycombed grill. I had to ensure that the speaker enclosure would be able to be opened and closed and was a snug fit so that the electronics where stable but could be easily accessible if needed.

I had to include in design holes for the buttons to work the speaker and I also put labelling for the controls which look like they were engraved into the speaker enclosure.

I have included the name of product, FilTa Speak on one side in cut out lettering. I have chosen suitable electronics for the internals.

In order for this design to be printed it was necessary for me to measure out a design of the speaker enclosure on graph paper. This abled me to get the dimensions right when I started the sketch in Fusion 360.

I had to pay significant consideration to the size of the holes so that the screws, bolts, power button and power jack all dropped through their holes neatly.

With that in mind I had to check that the recess for the battery was big enough for the battery without being too big or too small.

The handle was designed to be a pleasing size and shape with filets along the edges to make it comfortable to handle.

My creative process has had to change, modify and to be flexible to adapt to any difficulties and challenges in aspects of the design process that did not work out well initially.

A big example of this is because once the speaker enclosure was printed with the Amplifier and Bluetooth Receiver mount printed. I tried to fit the actual Amplifier and Bluetooth Receiver on its mounts but they were slightly off and the holes for the buttons were millimetres off the surface mount buttons on the Printed Circuit Board (PCB).

I had to consider the type of finish I would like speaker enclosure to have.

After printing they have a naturally textured surface. I did consider my options to use a solvent or an epoxy resin to make all the printed parts have a smooth finish to them but I decided against it as the textured surface with hardware brings a mixture of the industrial manufacturing with the modern day way of manufacturing on a small scale.

